Statue of Liberty, in front of the flag.TriWest News

'CD For the Troops' Available for Free Download


WASHINGTON, D.C — Beginning today, the CD "For The Troops II," including Grammy Award winners/nominees and multi-platinum selling recording artists Trace Adkins, Daughtry, Josh Groban and Five For Fighting, is available for free at the Army & Air Force Exchange Service (AAFES) website:

"I'm excited that the CD 'For the Troops' project is back with a new roster of fantastic artists and great songs," said John Ondrasik who performs under the pseudonym Five For Fighting and spearheaded the CD's development. "After the response from last year's effort, creating a sequel was a no-brainer. The CD 'For the Troops II' has a bit more rock and a few surprises, but at its core is a thank you to those whose sacrifice secures our freedom and that of our children."

U.S. active duty service members and veterans worldwide with a valid military ID can download the album at no charge at Another 200,000 hard copies of the CD will be arriving courtesy of TriWest Healthcare Alliance at military bases in Iraq and Afghanistan, America Supports You events, USO Centers, Fisher Houses, and other locations across the nation and overseas.

"We strongly believe that music can be an effective and healthy mental break during times of stress or family separation," said TriWest President and CEO David J. McIntyre, Jr. "We are exceptionally grateful for individuals like John Ondrasik and the other artists, who are driven to thank our troops in memorable ways and who encourage others to do the same. It is an honor for TriWest to serve America’s military families, and we hope more Americans also remember to thank those who protect our safety and freedom."

The complete track listing of "For the Troops II" is:

  • 3 Doors Down – "When I’m Gone"
  • Daughtry – "Home"
  • Five For Fighting – "Freedom Never Cries"
  • Good Charlotte – "I Don’t Want to Be in Love (Dance Floor Anthem)"
  • Gretchen Wilson – "California Girls"
  • Isaac Hayes – "Theme From Shaft"
  • Joe Perry – "Shakin' My Cage"
  • Josh Groban – "Machine"
  • Jude – "I Think It's Time (Everything's Alright)"
  • Keith Urban – "Everybody"
  • Maroon 5 – "Won’t Go Home Without You"
  • Roy Orbison – "In Dreams"
  • Alan Jackson – "Where I Come From"
  • Trace Adkins – "Fightin' Words"

"As Americans, we cannot do enough for these dedicated men and women who serve our nation," said Trace Adkins. "I am honored to be involved with this project and hope that it may bring a moment of enjoyment to them as they defend our freedom and our way of life."

Released last fall, songs from the original CD "For the Troops" were downloaded more than 350,000 times at, and another 200,000 service members and retirees worldwide received hard copies of the CD.

Ondrasik partnered with AAFES, TriWest and the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) to produce and release both CDs.

For more information on the CD and the artists, please visit .